Reviews

Perfect Death by Helen Fields @Helen_Fields @AvonBooksUK @ElkeDesa #PerfectDeath #LucCallanach #BookReview #BookBlogging

 

img_7640Avon Books 2018

Book Description

The worst dangers are the ones we can’t see…

Unknown to D.I. Luc Callanach and the newly promoted D.C.I Ava Turner, a serial killer has Edinburgh firmly in his grip.

The killer is taking his victims in the coldest, most calculating way possible – engineering slow and painful deaths by poison with his victims entirely unaware of the drugs flooding their bloodstream until it’s too late.

But how do you catch a killer who hides in the shadows?  A killer whose pleasure comes from watching pain from afar?  Up against their most difficult case yet, Callanach and Turner soon realise they face a seemingly impossible task…

The #1 bestseller returns with a standout thriller that will leave you gasping for more.  Perfect for fans of Karin Slaughter and M.J Arlidge.

My Thoughts

The third in the series of the ‘Perfect’ series featuring D.I Callanch and D.C.I Turner tackling Edinburgh’s crime out of Police Scotland.  A trickly one to review because what I want to say contains spoilers and I won’t do that.  So another terrific crime plot, well thought out and comprehensive.  While the reader is in a position to solve the mystery this one took some skilled policing and a bit of luck to unpick!

Continuing from book 2, Perfect Prey (review here), newly promoted D.C.I Turner is getting used to her new role although her and D.I Callanach continued to work closely in the absence of a new D.I.  I must say I missed some of the chemistry between these 2 leading characters which was evident throughout Perfect Prey.  I was pleased however to conclude this read and note it hadn’t completely disappeared!

As well as this series being brilliant crime fiction the characters are well developed and progressing with the series.  For those familiar, I particularly warmed to D.S Lively in this book, an old school and somewhat obstructive character who has been part of the team since D.C Callanach’s arrival.

This series I think is well written, without exception the plots have been strong but easy to follow, the crimes are gritty and at times gruesome, after all this is a murder squad investigating.  The detective work feels authentic and takes the reader along on the journey to resolution.  I think I have said it before, but for those considering picking this book up I would strongly suggest starting at the beginning for this series –

Perfect Remains

Perfect Prey

Perfect Remains

Perfect Death.

The entire series is highly recommended by me and my thanks to Elke at Avon Books for sending me this book.

Thanks as always for reading.

8 thoughts on “Perfect Death by Helen Fields @Helen_Fields @AvonBooksUK @ElkeDesa #PerfectDeath #LucCallanach #BookReview #BookBlogging

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s